Review of “Sticks and Stone” by David James Warren

This is the third book in the “True Lies of Rembrandt Stone” and I just have to say do not for any reason read these out of order or as a stand-alone.  This series is meant to be read in order and in its entirety.  I will also warn you that once you start this series you will feel the need to finish and then I have a feeling we will all hope that the author writes more.  In this book, Rembrandt has now been back in time a couple of times and each time he has come back to the present not recognizing anything about his life.  So he again goes back into the future to try to reclaim the life he remembers before he received the watch that was given to him by his old boss.  Words cannot fully describe how good this book or the series so far has been.  At the end of this book, I am again attempting to wait patiently for the next book.  I am so glad the author decided to put the entire series out in 2021 and not make me wait so long between books like most do.

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book in order to give an honest review.

Review of “From Rome with Love” by Kate Lloyd

This is the second book I have read by Kate Lloyd. I was so excited to confirm that this book is set at Christmas time. And also the cover really drew me in. Unlike Kate Lloyd’s many other books that are Amish in nature (based on what I see on Amazon), I would not consider this a Christian fiction novel. However, I was happy that it did not have foul language or explicit scenes included in the book. Lucy Goff goes to Rome with the Williams family in order to babysit their daughter, Tabatha. They are not aware of Lucy’s past struggles with addiction that were brought on by a prescription to painkillers for an injury when she was a teenager. This is mentioned throughout the book. Tabatha’s parents also failed to fully tell Lucy everything about their daughter. Then throw in an Italian male that Lucy meets on the plane to Rome, a boyfriend that randomly decides to show up to see her, and Tabatha’s parents all but disappearing to end up with one big puzzle. I did enjoy the mystery behind different parts of this story that I previously described. This is definitely not your typical contemporary romance.

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book in order to give an honest review.

Review of “Stage Fright” by Kate Lloyd

This is my first book by Kate Lloyd. I was drawn in first by the cover and then by the synopsis of the book. This novel revolves around Jessica Nash and her trip to England with her church choir. Right away I could relate to Jessica’s stage fright and fear of people’s opinions of her. It brought me back to the only time in my life I attempted to audition for a play and that experience is why I could feel for myself her stage fright in this first chapter of the book. And even if you cannot relate to the main character then you will still love this book because several of the characters are definitely hiding things that you will find yourself attempting to figure out. I love the way the author has of describing not only people but situations too. She definitely has a way with words. The words just flow off the page and I am happy to say that it is a fast read. She is definitely going on my list of authors to read.

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book in order to give an honest review.

Review of “No Unturned Stone” by David James Warren

“No Unturned Stone” is book two of six in the “The True Lies of Rembrandt Stone” series. This is definitely one of those series that needs to be read in order because each book picks up where the previous book left off. In this book, the story picks back up with Rembrandt trying to figure out what happened to the life he had before. What he originally thought was only a dream, he is slowly realizing was very real. If you thought the first book had a lot of action, then you have not seen anything yet. The second book has even more action I feel like. Also, I will not give anything away but I will say that the ending of this one will knock your socks off and leave you anxiously awaiting book three. I was not sure how I was going to like the books being written in first person but I have really enjoyed Rembrandt as the narrator of his own story. It just adds something to it that makes it even better than it would have been if written in third person.

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book in order to give an honest review.

Review of “Cast the First Stone” by David James Warren

This is the first book in the “True Lies of Rembrandt Stone” series. It is written by three authors, Susan May Warren, James L. Rubart, and David C. Warren, under the pseudonym of David James Warren. I have read all of James L. Rubart’s books and a good portion of Susan May Warren’s books. This is a debut for David C. Warren who is the son of Susan May Warren. This book has it all between cold cases, romance, and time travel. I believe it will appeal to a wide variety of readers. This book is so good that it drew me in not from the first page but from the very first paragraph of the book. This is definitely a series that you are going to want to read from the beginning. I like that they made Rembrandt Stone, who is the main character, an author that writes books based on what he knows about being a police detective. However, this is just an interesting side story. By the end of this book, you are definitely left wanting more which is why it is so good that they have all six books scheduled to come out in 2021.

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book for an honest review.